Board of Directors

The Institute is governed by a Board of Directors made up of individuals who share a passion for eradicating the number one killer of Americans.

Richard Katz

Richard J. Katz, MD, FACC.


Richard J. Katz, MD is the director of the division of Cardiology at The George Washington University Hospital, a position he has held since 1997. He also is the Bloedorn Professor of Cardiology. Dr. Katz is involved in numerous research studies evaluating heart failure, coronary artery disease and cardiac rhythm disorders. He has served as the principal investigator for a number of national clinical trials, including: CAST, Cardiac Arrhythmia Suppression Trial; PEACE, Prospective Evaluation of ACE Inhibitors; and BEST, Beta-blocker Evaluation of Survival Trial.

Barbara Bass

Barbara L. Bass, MD, RESD ’86

Board Member

Barbara L. Bass, MD, RESD ’86, vice president for health affairs (VPHA), dean of the GW School of Medicine and Health Sciences (SMHS), and chief executive officer of The GW Medical Faculty Associates (GW MFA), is a widely respected leader in academic medicine, a surgeon, and a published author known for her pioneering innovation in academic surgery.

Anastasia Kelly

Anastasia D. Kelly

Board Member

Anastasia D. Kelly (Stasia) is a partner in DLA Piper’s Corporate and Finance and Public Company and Corporate Governance practice as well as the firm’s White Collar Corporate Crime and Investigations group. Ms. Kelly joined DLA Piper in 2010 after a 15-year career as General Counsel in four leading public companies. Ms. Kelly was an associate and then a partner with Wilmer, Cutler & Pickering in Washington, DC, between 1985 and 1995, where her practice spanned several areas of the law, including the regulation of financial institutions and securities firms, corporate and securities and intellectual property. Earlier in her career, Ms. Kelly was associated with Carrington, Coleman, Sloman & Blumenthal in Dallas, Texas, where she practiced in the litigation group.

Steven London

Steven London

Board Member

Since joining Savills Studley in 1989, Steve has provided real estate advisory services to law firms, corporations, not-for-profit organizations and trade associations throughout the Washington, DC metropolitan area and United States. He has represented tenants totaling in excess of 6 million square feet and in excess of $3 billion.

Timothy Mccaffrey

Timothy McCaffrey, PhD

Board Member

Timothy A. McCaffrey, PhD, relocated his laboratory from the Cornell University Medical College in New York City to The George Washington University in 2001. At GW, he founded the Genomics Core Facility, which provides microarray services and other genomics support to the entire research faculty at GW. In the same year, he co-founded a new Master’s program in Genomics, Proteomics and Bioinformatics; he and his colleagues are currently constructing a highly innovate PhD in this rapidly expanding field.

Robert Miller

Robert Miller, PhD

Board Member

Dr. Robert Miller is a neuroscientist, researcher and administrator in the GW School of Medicine and Health Sciences. He is a professor in the Department of Anatomy and Regenerative Biology and was installed as the university's Vivian Gill Distinguished Research Professor in 2015.

Farzad Najam

Farzad Najam, MD

Board Member

Farzad Najam, MD, serves as the Director of Cardiac Surgery and Clinical Professor of Surgery at The George Washington University Hospital. He is board certified in Thoracic Surgery. He specializes in cardiac surgery and has expertise in mitral valve repair surgery, surgery for atrial fibrillation, valvular heart disease, thoracic aortic diseases, Transcatheter aortic valve replacement (TAVR) and Extracorporeal Membrane Oxygenation (ECMO).

Johnathan Reiner

Jonathan S. Reiner, MD, FACC

Board Member

Jonathan S. Reiner, MD, is the director of the Cardiac Catheterization Laboratory at The George Washington University Hospital and a professor of Medicine at The George Washington University Medical Center. He is a fellow of the American College of Cardiology and maintains membership with the American Heart Association.

Kimberly Russo

Kimberly D. Russo, MBA

Board Member

Kimberly Russo, MS, was appointed Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of the George Washington University Hospital in May 2016. Before being named CEO, Ms. Russo served as Chief Operating Officer for the hospital since April 2009. Prior to that, she was Associate Administrator at the hospital since August 2006, and was previously Executive Director of Rehabilitation Services. She holds an MBA from the University of Nebraska-Lincoln, through a collaborative leadership program with Gallup, a Master of Science in Speech-Language Pathology from Rush University in Chicago, and a Bachelor of Science in Speech Language Pathology and Audiology from Illinois State University.

Anton Sidawy

Anton Sidawy, MD, MPH

Board Member

Dr. Sidawy is professor and chairman of the Department of Surgery at The GW Medical Faculty Associates. He is a Vascular Surgeon with special interest in the management of lower extremity diabetic vascular disease. Dr. Sidawy finished his Vascular Surgery Fellowship at Boston University Hospital. He also obtained a M.P.H degree in Health Care Administration from George Washington University.

Kannan Srinavasan

Kannan Srinivasan

Board Member

Kannan Srinivasan is a Finance professional with 30 years of experience in building high performance teams and helping companies achieve and manage high growth in customer service, insurance and retail sector.

Cynthia Tracy

Cynthia M. Tracy, MD, FACC

Board Member

A cardiologist with more than twenty years experience in the Washington area, Dr. Cynthia Tracy is a professor of Medicine and the director of Cardiology Services at The George Washington University Hospital. She is also on the team of the hospital’s Atrial Fibrillation Center, which offers the latest medical and surgical advances to diagnose and treat irregular heartbeats.

Alan Wasserman

Alan G. Wasserman, MD, MACP, FACC

Board Member

Dr. Alan Wasserman is the Eugene Meyer Professor of Medicine and the chairman of the Department of Medicine at the George Washington University Medical Center. He is also the chairman of the board of trustees and president of the George Washington University Medical Faculty Associates, which comprises the University’s clinical faculty.